Footlight Records
Home > The Music of Leroy Anderson - Once Upon a Sleigh Ride

View cart
Continue Shopping

The Music of Leroy Anderson - Once Upon a Sleigh Ride
Anderson, Leroy

Price: $24.95
Sale Price: $14.95
You Save: $10.00 (40%)



Product Description
Once Upon a Sleigh Ride chronicles the life and work of composer Leroy Anderson (1908-1975) through interviews with colleagues, family members and others who worked with him, as well as archival and contemporary performances of his work.
Singing the praises of the composer are conductors Keith Lockhart, Frederick Fennell and Seiji Ozawa; and choreographer Mark Morris, who created Sandpaper Ballet (1999), featuring tunes by Anderson, for the San Francisco Ballet.

At the heart of the program is Anderson’s infectious music, heard in long excerpts by various incarnations of the Boston Pops (conducted by Fiedler, Williams and Lockhart) and other orchestras, and in delightful television clips with Steve Allen, Judy Garland, Liza Minnelli and Jack Jones.

Leroy Anderson’s works have been played in symphony halls and band shells around the world for more than 50 years. His pieces such as Sleigh Ride, The Syncopated Clock, Blue Tango and The Typewriter are at once accessible to general audiences and appreciated by artists for their musicality.

"As someone who writes music, I can never take light things other than seriously. And the humorous thing in music, the light thing, the bonbon – I have abiding respect for someone who can bring that off as deftly as Leroy Anderson did repeatedly." – Oscar-winning composer John Williams

DVD - NTSC format - 198 minutes

Browse style(s): Video/DVD / Miscellaneous

Home | Payment/Shipping Info | E-Mail | Order Status
Footlight is now an internet store only! Address: P.O. Box 496, Georgetown, CT, 06829
Our new hours of operation are: Sunday - Friday 12pm - 5pm
Phone & Fax: (203) 544-8288 E-Mail:
Copyright © 2001-2014, Footlight Records. All rights reserved.