Footlight Records
Home > Midnight Frolic - Broadway Music Of Louis Hirsch

View cart
Continue Shopping

Midnight Frolic - Broadway Music Of Louis Hirsch
Composer: Louis Hirsch

Price: $17.95

Audio CD


Product Description
Louis Hirsch wrote some of the loveliest music I ever heard on the Broadway stage. It really is a shame that it is almost completely forgotten today.
—Robert Russell Bennett (1978)

From the mid-1910s until his tragic death in 1924, Louis A. Hirsch (born 1887) was one of the best and most celebrated composers of the American musical theater. From 1911 until 1924, Hirsch’s eighteen Broadway musical comedies and revues spotlighted him as Jerome Kern’s only true rival, and made mega-stars of several young performers—among them Al Jolson, Will Rogers, W.C. Fields, and Mae West. Hirsch’s work is important because of its influence on American theater music: it combined, for the first time, the sounds of Hirsch’s Jewish heritage filtered through his European classical training, fused with a fascination for ragtime, blues, and early “jass.” To audiences of the 1910s, Hirsch’s music was unique and sensational. Although he shared librettists (Guy Bolton) and lyricists (P.G. Wodehouse) with Jerome Kern, Hirsch’s style—while comparable to Kern’s—was far more extroverted. And historically, in almost every way Hirsch was the “prototype” for George Gershwin; indeed, Hirsch’s untimely demise (at age 36) was the event that finally opened the doors of Broadway to the younger composer. This recording features seventeen never-before-recorded original period orchestrations of overtures, selections, songs and dance numbers from Hirsch’s shows, including his monster hits, “The Wedding Glide,” “Mary,” and “The Love Nest.”
Download from iTunes!

1. Overture to the Ziegfeld Follies of 1915

2. Was There Ever a Night Like This?

3. Hello Frisco! — The Transcontinental Telephone Song

4. ’Neath the South Sea Moon

5. My Rainbow Girl & The Alimony Blues

6. My Home Town

7. Any Old Time At All

8. Mary

9. When I Hear a Syncopated Tune

10. Selections from Mary

11. Cupid’s Lane

12. The Wedding Glide

13. Wildflower: An Indian Intermezzo

14. List’ning on Some Radio

15. The Love Nest

16. Highlights from Going Up

17. The Ziegfeld One Step

Browse style(s): Music

Home | Payment/Shipping Info | E-Mail | Order Status
Footlight is now an internet store only! Address: P.O. Box 496, Georgetown, CT, 06829
Our new hours of operation are: Sunday - Friday 12pm - 5pm
Phone & Fax: (203) 544-8288 E-Mail:
Copyright © 2001-2014, Footlight Records. All rights reserved.