Footlight Records
Home > Goldilocks (Original 1958 Broadway Cast) Elaine Stritch

View cart
Continue Shopping

Goldilocks (Original 1958 Broadway Cast) Elaine Stritch
Composer: Anderson, Leroy
Lyricist: Ford, Joan/Kerr, Walter and Jean
Ameche, Don/Stritch, Elaine

Price: $11.95

Audio CD

Product Description
Goldilocks is a musical with a book by Jean and Walter Kerr, music by Leroy Anderson, and lyrics by the Kerrs and Joan Ford.

The show has nothing to do with the Goldilocks tale we all know but is a fast-paced parody of the silent film era when directors made quickie one-reelers overnight. It focuses on Maggie Harris (Elaine Stritch,) a musical comedy star retiring from show business in order to marry into high society, until producer-director Max Grady (Don Ameche) arrives to remind her she has a contract to star in his film Frontier Woman. The two battle and slapstick situations ensue as the movie evolves into an epic about Ancient Egypt and filming extends well beyond the amount of time Grady promised it would take to make the movie. The CD showcases a great score including one of the best that Elaine Stritch ever created, "I Never Know When." A lovely and timeless song. A great show that belongs in the library of very person who loves Show Music.

Track Listing:
1. Overture
2. Lazy Moon
3. Give The Little Lady
4. Save A Kiss
5. No One'll Ever Love You
6. Who's Been Sitting In My Chair
7. There Never Was A Woman
8. The Pussy Foot
9. Lady In Waiting
10. The Beast In You
11. Shall I Take My Heart And Go?
12. I Can't Be In Love
13. Bad Companions
14. I Never Know When
15. Two Years In The Making
16. Heart Of Stone

Browse style(s): Music / Cast Recordings

Home | Payment/Shipping Info | E-Mail | Order Status
Footlight is now an internet store only! Address: P.O. Box 496, Georgetown, CT, 06829
Our new hours of operation are: Sunday - Friday 12pm - 5pm
Phone & Fax: (203) 544-8288 E-Mail:
Copyright © 2001-2014, Footlight Records. All rights reserved.