Footlight Records
Home > Music in the Air

View cart
Continue Shopping

Music in the Air
Composer: Kern, Jerome
Lyricist: Hammerstein, Oscar
Pickens, Jane

Price: $15.95

Audio CD

Product Description
At the age of 14, Southern belle Jane Pickens attended The Curtis Institute of Music where she became an accomplished pianist and singer who furthered her musical studies in Paris, and took her masterís at The Juilliard School of Music. Back in New York, her sisters Helen and Grace joined her and the trio formed The Pickens Sisters. Their big break came when NBC Radio hired them. Promoted as "Three Little Maids From Dixie", they appeared in "Thumbs Up" on Broadway and in a movie, "Sitting Pretty".

When the trio disbanded Jane went to work as a single as a soloist with The New York Philharmonic and The Philadelphia Orchestra. She had her own radio program on NBC and kept up quite a pace with her Saturday Night Party radio show each week and radio appearances 6 nights and 2 afternoons every week. Jane was now the toast of the Manhattan club-and-radio circuit.

Broadway then beckoned. Jane appeared in ďThe Ziegfeld FolliesĒ of 1936 and 1937 before starring opposite Ed Wynn in ďBoys And Girls TogetherĒ in 1940. In 1949 she won raves for starring on Broadway in the lead of "Regina", the Marc Blitzstein musical version of "The Little Foxes" before her final stage appearance in 1951 as Frieda Hatzfeld in the revival production of Jerome Kern-Oscar Hammersteinís ďMusic in the AirĒ. The show was not a success. RCA Victor had announced a cast recording but it did not materialise due probably to the failure of the show. Instead, an album was issued featuring only Jane, accompanied by Al Goodman and his Orchestra and Chorus. Long unavailable, the record has been much sought after by her fans so it is wonderful that this album has now been re-issued in itís entirety along with bonus tracks, many of which were performed regularly by Jane on her radio show or in her concerts.

(All songs performed by Jane Pickens unless otherwise noted)

1. Overture - Al Goodman And His Orchestra 3:47
2. Iíve Told Every Little Star 3:06
3. Prayer 2:04
4. Thereís A Hill Beyond A Hill - The Guild Choristers 1:21
5. Iím Alone 2:11
6. Iím So Eager 1:30
7. One More Dance 3:27
8. In Egern On The Tegern See 3:29
9. The Song Is You 3:44
10. We Belong Together - The Guild Choristers 2:43

Bonus Tracks:
11. Summertime 2:20
12. Sometimes I Feel Like A Motherless Child / Swing Low, Sweet Chariot 2:49
13. Lover 2:44
14. The Man I Love 2:43
15. Iím Nobodyís Baby 2:35
16. My Lindy Lou 2:50
17. When I Grow Too Old To Dream 2:27
18. When A Gypsy Makes His Violin Cry 3:18
19. Dixie 2:22
20. I Only Have Eyes For You 3:08
21. Galway Bay 2:33
22. One Sunday Afternoon 2:39
23. Why Canít You Behave - With Alfred Drake 2:42
24. Wunderbar - With Alfred Drake 3:18
25. Half A Heart 3:01
26. Intermezzo 2:55

Browse style(s): Music / Cast Recordings

Home | Payment/Shipping Info | E-Mail | Order Status
Footlight is now an internet store only! Address: P.O. Box 496, Georgetown, CT, 06829
Our new hours of operation are: Sunday - Friday 12pm - 5pm
Phone & Fax: (203) 544-8288 E-Mail:
Copyright © 2001-2014, Footlight Records. All rights reserved.